The Middle Years Programme – Grades 7 - 10

DIS offers a combined year 7 and 8 class and a combined year 9 and 10 class. Qualified subject specific teachers teach students at each year level.

DIS uses the Australian Curriculum as its curricular backbone and is authorized as an International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (MYP)  World School to use the  MYP as the pedagogical framework to deliver the curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum describes what is essential for all students to achieve.  It describes what students should know and be able to do at different stages of learning and provide a clear basis for reporting and program planning.

The MYP requires student study eight disciplines. They are:

  • Language and literature
  • Language acquisition
  • Science
  • Mathematics
  • Individuals and societies
  • Design
  • Health and physical education
  • The arts – visual and performing

Grade 10 students are also required to complete the Personal Project  and meet the school’s community and service requirements.

For further information about the IB MYP visit
School specific questions can be directed to our MYP Coordinator, Jacqueline Crothers (

Here what students have to say about the programme.


What we teach

The links below will take you to the Australian Curriculum's level descriptions, content descriptions and achievement standards.

Grade 7 | Grade 8 | Grade 9 | Grade 10 |


© Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority 2012.This website references material published by the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA). ACARA does not endorse, and is not connected with, any use that is made of the Australian Curriculum or other ACARA material on this website. You can find the unaltered and current version of the Australian Curriculum at ACARA offers no representation or warranty with respect to the ACARA material whatsoever and is not liable for any use made of.


Last update: January 16, 2015